Views: 24260|Replies: 77

Can China become a bilingual country?   [Copy link] 中文

Post time 2012-1-2 20:10:55 |Display all floors
I've been studying English for many years, and I'm still frustrated by the difference between the huge number of English learners and the tiny number of English speakers in my country.

I really crave an English-speaking environment here. Can this be possible? How?

Personally, making English the office language would be preferred. Chinese languages can be used in families and among friends. But even in foreign companies, people still speak "broken", passable English. What a shame!

Anybody knows how can this country be transformed?

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2012-1-3 10:15:27 |Display all floors
This post was edited by mapleripple at 2012-1-3 10:18

hey, by saying "office language", i mean the language used in offices and on official occasions. I didn't mean that the government should make English the "official" language of the country,... like the case with Hong Kong or Singapore where official documents should be presented bilingually or multilingually. I know it'd be too romantic to hope that.{:soso_e100:}

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2012-1-3 11:56:50 |Display all floors
This post was edited by incarnationabc at 2012-1-3 15:46

To: OP

This is a very unwise and sad idea I have to say.

To all people who really love their country and culture, they are always proud of their own mother tongue, which is considered most beautiful and superior language in the world. If peoplel don't love their own mother tongue, how can they love their own culture?

Why do Chinese people have to speak English especially in China? Is China a colony of Anglos, where the native people were deprived of the liberty to speak their mother tongue, i.e. aboriginal people in Australia.