Views: 10774|Replies: 8

hesitancy v.s. hesitation [Copy link] 中文

Post time 2009-10-19 17:05:16 |Display all floors
who can tell me the difference between "hesitancy " and "hesitation"? plz do not only post the definitions from dictionaries! its better to give examples. Thanks a lot!

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2009-11-7 09:00:48 |Display all floors
My take:

Both nouns appear to have the same meaning - but differ in the way they are used in spoken and written English.  It really depends on the other words in the clause or statement you use.

John is not known for his hesitancy when it comes to helping.
Mary had no hestation in recommending you for promotion.

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2009-11-7 23:29:33 |Display all floors
oh
I see
Beautiful tomorrows begin today.

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2010-3-22 02:52:33 |Display all floors

hesitation vs. hesitancy

I'm not an expert, but I read terryfoy's reply as:

Hesitation is an action (or more precisely, a lack of action).
Hesitancy is a feeling, perhaps a personality trait (if the person does this a lot).

So the meanings indeed seem quite close.  You could accuse someone of hesitancy, but it would be silly to accuse them of hesitation: hesitation is an established fact; true or false; they either hesitated or they didn't.  Another way to look at it: hesitancy produces hesitation, but hesitation never produces hesitancy.

Terry Allen

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2010-6-20 15:19:33 |Display all floors
My opinion:

Hesitancy is more about the concept and "timeless" use of this idea and is therefore more useful for abstraction
hesitation is more concrete.

(something that some people do often in English and miss when we speak Chinese - although Chinese does have other devices which are not present in English).

So I can say "hesitancy in thought" as an abstraction meaning somebody thinks slowly or their "train of thought" is in some way intermittent