Home / Forum / Language learning

How to learn English grammar

SEARU

Nov 10, 2023, 09:42

According to that dictionary grammar is how to put words in the right order to make a sentence.  But in Chinese we usually think grammar(语法 yu-fa) as ‘speaking method’ or ‘the way of saying something'.  As you see Chinese and foreigners explain the  same  word in different ways that is determined by the different culture backgrounds.  When you do translation job,you have re-arrange the word-order of the original sentences.  This is a headache for chinese students to accept English grammar. Some teachers force the poor children to memorize the sentence patterns. It is a pity for both teaching and learning.  Here I would like to share my teaching experience with reader friends as the following:

a.   To make a positive statement: 

I am a farmer.    (All people around the world say it in the same  way.)

b.   To make a negative statement:      I am not a farmer.  

The word-order sounds quite special for Chinese!It should be read as “I am (not a farmer).“ instead of ‘(I am not )a farmer.".      And the reasonable translation should be ”我是非农民.“   It seems that foreigners have strong sense of judgement whose judging always first  starting from the verb ’be' no matter the statement is positive or not.   Through grammar we can sense the cultural difference.   

(To be continued)

3 975
SEARU

In the class that child asked me:’Have you been abroad before?”I replied:“No, I have not been to any foreign country. But I read English newspaper every day and I often feel that I am traveling around the world all the time!” Language is the best window through which you can see more about the foreign custom and culture.  You had better forget your native language when you learn a foreign one. Put yourself into the foreign environment and sense their real atmosphere. You willl make quick progress on learning.”

SEARU

Yes, foreigners (do) have strong sense of judgement!  For an example: