Home / Forum / World affairs

The lab-leak theory? Again?

AaronLDY

Jul 27, 2021, 14:10

One of the most intelligent men to ever walk the face of the Earth once said something that was, not surprisingly, really smart: The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result.

It is a shame Albert Einstein is not alive today because he could deliver that message to many people in the United States media and political elites who are determined to convince you and me that the "lab leak" theory to explain the origin of the coronavirus pandemic must remain at the forefront of our thoughts.

They keep saying the lab leak theory is credible, and the available evidence continues to refute this. This never-ending cycle does seem to fit Einstein's description of insanity.

Allow me to put my cards on the table: I am no scientist, but I believe the investigation already undertaken by the scientific community has made abundantly clear that it is highly unlikely – if not improbable – that the lab leak theory has any credibility. I am confident in stating that the top notch work already done by scientists refutes any effort by anyone to point a finger of blame at the highly trained professional crew that worked inside the Wuhan Institute of Virology when the coronavirus pandemic began.

Yes, I know by making such a statement I will be accused of being a sellout, someone who is happy to do Beijing's bidding while ignoring reality. My reply is simple. The facts that we have at the moment are quite clear: The lab leak theory lacks any substance. By extension, the only reason I can see to continue pursuing it with such vigor is because there remains a chronic need in the West to undermine the credibility of China on the global stage.

Of course, at the end of the day, neither your opinion nor mine matters. The facts do. And I repeat that the facts we have are rather obvious.