Views: 9891|Replies: 40

The day when you stopped spending your parents' money   [Copy link] 中文

August's Best Contributor 2012 July's Best Contributor 2012

Post time 2014-7-9 16:59:57 |Display all floors
Parents are always giving children their selfless love, the best care and financial support, but children on the other hand shouldn't take everything for granted, they needs to learn to be independent as they grow up.

It must be a pain-taking as well as fullfilling experience To be financially independent. For most of the cases in China, young people won't be financially independent from their parents until they land their first jobs. Was it the case for you? It was true for me, I found a tutor job when I was a sophomore, and the pay day was so sweet, though it was little. As I took more tutor jobs, I could completely support myself in college. My parents were very proud of me.

General opinion goes that Chinese teenagers are not as independent as those in US. Do you agree?
What was your experience of being financially independent from your parents?

[url=][/url]
Life is what you make of it

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2014-7-9 19:56:16 |Display all floors
This post was edited by jay_dee at 2014-7-9 20:27

I started working @ 12.
There was no allowance plus I had chores to do.
Cut grass & landscaping, cleaned basements & garages, did minor home repairs & painted, shoveled snow, etc.
Bought my own car @ 17, paid the insurance and for gas/repairs, bought & washed my clothes.
Started paying rent @ 18 & bought groceries, cooked for myself.
Worked 3 jobs while attending University, paid for my books and tuition, co
mmuted daily.
When I was 24 I bought and furnished my first house without any assitance.
I paid the entire bill for my wedding as well.
Chinese have it easy.

I'm just here for the money

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2014-7-9 20:04:04 |Display all floors
jay_dee Post time: 2014-7-9 19:56
I started working @ 12.