Views: 27612|Replies: 17

What is ‘army’ in your language? [Copy link] 中文

Post time 2017-12-11 15:46:25 |Display all floors
(As a teacher I know little about military affairs. This post is only for fun!)

In ancient China, people called army '师'. ---------The first part of 师 is a changed-form of 刀(knife) that symbols the weapon for your fighting;
Then what is 币-like thing?  I think it should be the banner or flag for the troops. In the old era, banners were quite useful for the commander to conduct his soldiers when in training or fighting. ----------In Peking Opera, you could that officer-actor carrying several colorful flags on the back which could show his power!
In modern society, we use “军队‘’ as army.

(To be continued.)
Loving to the people and the  environment is special feeling that could lead you have a good study about the world!

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2017-12-11 19:38:03 |Display all floors
队 is a group of people standing in line:its first component is simple form of 耳(ear); 人 is  ‘man’ or 'men'.  This word specially emphasizes ‘ear’ since all soldiers must listen to leader‘s order and obey the strict discipline without any condition!

军 is the main important part for the concept of ‘army’ in Chinese which original form is 軍-----------車 is ‘vehicle’ or ‘cart’, its shape looks exactly like one side of the old wooden cart driven by a beast! -------specially if you write its middle part as ‘one circle plus ‘+' in the middle . This reminds that:"There was old wooden wheel with about one dozen of big iron nails firmly fixing the components  together at home when I was little. Itis a pity that my brother dismantled it and burnt as firewood in 1983! ---------Through it you could imagine how hard such a shabby vehicle worked as military equipment on the bumpy earth road!
The top of 軍 should be the covering for cheating the enemy. Even in the modern era, we often dress up military truck in green-yellow cloth for security!’
’’