Readers’ Blog

Why am I in Beijing?!

Popularity 7Viewed 1252 times 2014-6-25 16:26 |System category:Life| china, beijing, laowai, foreigner, introduction

The United States economy had nothing to offer. The economy had slowed construction/design work to a snail pace. Any positions available in the States were to be filled by people with much more experience. I graduated in May of 2013; my goal was to move back home and find a job near my family and friends. I lived in Atlanta, Georgia – a large city for U.S. standards. I thought a large city would have plenty of work to offer for an aspiring landscape architect.  The problem was that I found myself competing with people that had years of experience and that were willing to accept an entry-level salary. How was I supposed to compete with them?! (Throughout the years before my graduation, firms had to reduce their number of employees due to the economic decline.)

I widened my search – instead of searching for jobs in Atlanta, I applied for positions all across the United States. Everywhere I looked, my portfolio received plenty of compliments but my lack of experience made every firm lose interest in me. This pattern continued for several months. It was extremely frustrating! I decided to take a break from my job hunting; a visit to my university town always relaxes me. I also needed to get away from my parents; I had to move back in with them to be able to afford living in Atlanta. Living with your parents after graduating from college is not something to be proud of in American culture. It’s actually avoided as much as possible!